User Roles - Overview and Setup

Assigning Roles lets you decide which employees have access to the various functions of Service Autopilot. Each role will have permissions, or Rights, that allow the user to view or make changes in various system areas. In other words, each user is assigned a role and that user then has the permissions associated with the role.

Why Assign Permissions?

Permissions are important for securing sensitive information, such as employee records, or limiting access on a need-to-know basis, like accounting records. The ability to control access at this level is a unique advantage of using SA. You can customize each role to what’s best for your company.

For example, you might designate an individual team leader to modify Jobs in the field. This saves time for the front office and gives the responsibility to the field employee who knows what is needed. However, you might not want that team leader to see the price of your services. The permissions for the Team Lead role can be set up accordingly.

Another example is the ability to send invoices. An employee might be trusted to send invoices, but they do not have the authority to modify the invoices.

 

Set Up Roles

SA provides the following roles by default:

  • Accounting
  • Customer Support Rep
  • Operations Manager
  • Owner
  • Sales
  • Scheduler
  • Team Leader

Each of the provided roles has a unique set of rights associated to it.  You can change the roles and and the associated rights as you wish. You also can create new roles and assign rights to them if your company has different needs.

Create a New User Role

  1. Go to Settings > User Roles & Rights.
  2. Click Add Role or go to Actions > Add Role
  3. Enter a Name
  4. Enter a Description. This might be the same as the "Name" field.
  5. Select the User Rights you want to apply to this Role when the Role is assigned to a Resource. 
  6. Click Save.

Modify an Existing User Role

  1. Go to Settings > User Roles & Rights.
  2. Click the name of the Role you wish to modify. If you do not see the Role, click the "All" tab to view active and inactive Roles.
  3. Modify the User Rights as needed.
  4. Click Save.

Any changes made to a User Role will apply to any Resources with the assigned Role. The user may need to sign out and back in to SA before they see the changes applied.

Change the Status of a User Role

  1. Go to Settings > User Roles & Rights.
  2. Identify the Roles whose Status you need to change. Use the tabs at the top of the table to view Roles with differing Statuses.
  3. Check the box(es) next to the Roles you need to modify.
  4. Go to Actions > Make (In)Active.

Delete a User Role

  1. Go to Settings > User Roles & Rights.
  2. Check the box(es) next to the Roles you need to delete.
  3. Go to Actions > Delete
  4. On the confirmation message, click OK

 

Assign a User Role

Assigning a User Role is part of the process of setting a Resource (Employee or Vendor) up as an SA user. That process is outlined in this article

For full information on setting up user rights for different roles, see the user guide or continue with the next article.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Still looking for your answer? How Can We Help?